Skip to content

The Plowright Prize

The biennial Plowright Prize recognises an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of infectious diseases in animals. 

Rickettsia typhi bacteria, courtesy of CDC/AFIP

Prize background

Walter Plowright was widely regarded as one of the world’s most eminent veterinary virologists and authorities on rinderpest, whose development of a tissue culture vaccine represented a key milestone in efforts to control the disease – one of only two infectious diseases that have been fully eradicated.

The prize

The prize recipient will receive £75,000, to be used to support research or other improvement activity that contributes to the control, management and eradication of infectious diseases in animals. For these purposes, the term ‘animal’ includes both domestic and free-living species – mammals, birds or fish.


This prize recognises an individual whose work has had a significant impact on the control, management and eradication of infectious diseases of animals. Their contribution will demonstrate animal, humanitarian or economic benefit.

The prize is open to any veterinary surgeon, veterinary nurse or research scientist working in Europe or the Commonwealth. The nominee may be working in practice, academia, a research institute/organisation, industry, government or another relevant sector. Institutions and/or organisations are not eligible to receive the prize.

“It was a great honour to receive the RCVS Knowledge Plowright Prize, I was particularly humbled that it is awarded in memory of Walter Plowright. The funds are advancing my current research on Theileria parva, by demonstrating that the approach I am pursuing is a viable option for vaccination against the parasite.”

Professor Morrison, 2019 Winner

How to nominate

Nominations for the Plowright Prize are currently closed and will open again in 2023. 


Please direct all enquiries regarding the prize to: or by phone: +44 (0) 20 7202 0721