Skip to content

The Plowright Prize

The Plowright Prize is a biennial prize introduced in 2019 in memory of Dorothy and Walter Plowright, which recognises an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of infectious diseases in animals. The 2019 nominations are closed and the prize has been awarded - read the press release

bacteria, courtesy of CDC/Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP)

Prize background

Walter Plowright was widely regarded as one of the world’s most eminent veterinary virologists and authorities on rinderpest, whose development of a tissue culture vaccine represented a key milestone in efforts to control the disease – one of only two infectious diseases that have been fully eradicated.

The prize

The prize recipient will receive £75,000, to be used to support research or other improvement activity that contributes to the control, management and eradication of infectious diseases in animals. For these purposes, the term ‘animal’ includes both domestic and free-living species – mammals, birds or fish.


This prize recognises an individual whose work has had a significant impact on the control, management and eradication of infectious diseases of animals. Their contribution will demonstrate animal, humanitarian or economic benefit.

The prize is open to any veterinary surgeon, veterinary nurse or research scientist working in Europe or the Commonwealth. The nominee may be working in practice, academia, a research institute/organisation, industry, government or another relevant sector. Institutions and/or organisations are not eligible to receive the prize.

Any enquiries or questions should be addressed to or +44 (0)20 7202 0721.

Image: Rickettsia typhi bacteria, courtesy of CDC/AFIP